Kindness Prevails: Day 50

In my last post I focused on positive thinking in the new year, specifically by replacing negative thinking with positive thinking. Well, I also understand that it’s easier said than done.

We all have days where nothing seems to be going right and our mood is stuck in the dark. It happens. Today I came across a relevant article that uses this positivity mantra and provides advice from mental health professionals and psychologists on effective ways to replace negativity even when it seems near impossible.

They suggest “owning” and accepting your negative thoughts rather than obsessing over them, assessing and questioning their validity, taking action to correct them and, in severe cases, seeking professional help. Check out the article here for more detail.

The article ends with some self- reflection:

“The more you dwell on the negative, the more accustomed your brain becomes to dwelling on the negative,” said Dr. Hanson, who suggests asking yourself, “Are my thoughts helping to build me up, or tear me down?”

Believe me, when I say I will be focusing on the positive this year, that doesn’t mean it will be a simple task. It just means that I will at least make an effort to do so, rather than sit back and dwell on darkness.

*Featured image by Kathy Osborn via The New York Times*

Leave a Reply

