Kindness Prevails: Day 33

I wanted to use today’s post as a reminder to be kind to yourself.

It’s something I’ve written about before but I really can’t stress it enough, especially this week when many college students are going through finals week, myself included.

College is hard. It’s stressful, exciting, nerve wracking and a whirlwind of emotions that I didn’t know existed before I got here. It has also taught me more about myself, how I respond to these pressures, and ways that make me feel better when everything gets to be too much. It has challenged me in multiple ways, but it has also given me the opportunity to learn how to be kind to myself and ease the stress.

Ive learned that being kind to myself means getting some extra sleep, eating extra healthy, drinking a hot green tea, splurging on something sweet, laying in bed and listening to a podcast, lighting a candle, listening to music, or talking through whatever is going on with a family member or friend.

Everyone’s fixes are different, and they may take some time to figure out, but if I’ve learned anything it’s that sometimes the best cure for a bad day or stressful situation is focusing on yourself. Be selfish every once and a while, you deserve it. Self-care is important.

*Featured image: https://www.tumblr.com/search/self+care*

One thought on “Kindness Prevails: Day 33

Leave a Reply

