Kindness Prevails: Day 15

Reflecting on the past few days has made me realize how thankful I am that this holiday has distracted me from social media, politics and everything else about these recent hyper-polarized months of elections and divisive political happenings. 

For the first time since I can remember my Facebook news feed hasn’t been dominated by sensational media and political frustrations, but rather by photos and posts celebrating the holiday and expressing gratitude for family, friends and reasons to be thankful and positive. It’s so refreshing.

Of course politics and the media certainly matter- I’m a journalism major and international relations minor, it certainly matters to me- but taking time to yourself also matters. Sometimes that means taking a step away from our devices, and focusing on things that make us smile and forget about the negativity and stress in our lives. 

In my family, that means sitting by a fire pit in the backyard, playing cards, drinking wine, and laughing. 

Sometimes the simplest of things that make us the happiest, are those that we need the most, yet forget to devote our time to. I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving, and if you don’t celebrate the holiday, I hope you take some time to remember the simple things that make you most happy, and take some time to enjoy them! 

*Featured photo from Pinterest*

Leave a Reply

