Kindness Prevails: Day 11

Thanksgiving week is upon us (thank goodness)! This week on my blog I will be focusing on the spirit of the week by sharing something I am thankful for each day.

Besides the incredible food and much needed family time, Thanksgiving is a perfect time for reflection. Of course, it is a time to be thankful- but in doing so it is also a time that I like to put things into perspective, and go forward into the holiday season with positivity and kindness on my mind. Around this time of year, I find it can be hard to focus on these things, with finals and school work building up. Yet, it’s also a perfect time to conquer that stress, by reminding myself of all the wonderful things in my life.

Today, I am thankful to be a Third Cultured Kid. The other day I came across this article on my Facebook news feed, which reminded me why it is a part of my identity that I am proud of.

According to the article, TCK’s are “children who spend their formative years in places that are not their parents’ homeland.”

Both my parents are American, but I spent most of my upbringing attending international schools in Singapore and Switzerland. Because of the way I grew up, I have friends all around the world, don’t know the answer to the question “Where are you from?”, and am extremely accustom to saying “goodbye”.

It’s hard, because I am constantly missing people I love the most. It’s great, because I have made so many new friends every year of my life, many of whom are still my closest friends, despite not having seen some of them in years. It’s also pretty great to know someone basically anywhere I travel.

The article notes, “TCKs often develop an identity that’s rooted in people rather than places.” This is so accurate.

“Home” is a mixture of grilling and sipping champagne with my family in North Carolina, sitting by the Rhine River late at night with my best friends from Switzerland, a house full of cousins and aunts and uncles and Cajun food on Christmas Eve in Louisiana, and watching movies on the couch with my roommates in our apartment in Boston.

Thanks to growing up a TCK, home is not one place, it is all these people. I’m very thankful for that.

Happy Thanksgiving week!!

 

2 thoughts on “Kindness Prevails: Day 11

Leave a Reply

