Lobstah Rolls and Bean Boots

This is going to be the first of my, probably many, ‘travel’ and food posts. I love to travel and I love food, so they seemed fitting! My oldest sister moved to Boston last year, so since I’ve been here she’s been my official tour guide. I’ve only ever been to Boston once before to visit BU for the first time, so I have yet to explore most of the city and surrounding states. Today we road trip-ed to Maine for some LL Bean outlet shopping and, of course, Lobsters rolls. I figured I’d treat myself to some fur lined snow boots for my very first, upcoming Boston winter experience. Yes, I’m terrified. Not to mention I’ve been in Boston for a month and I still hadn’t tried a Lobster roll until today! I’m obsessed. Buttery bread and fresh lobster, what’s not to like?

For anyone in the Boston area, with access to a car, I’d definitely recommend this trip. We were lucky enough that it was a beautiful, sunny day but it would have been great even on a colder day. The LL Bean outlet is located in Freeport, Maine, about two hours away from Boston. Freeport was so cute and charming. There were people of all ages walking around, having lunch, shopping and just enjoying the beautiful day. We spent some time at the massive LL Bean outlet and, of course, did some shopping at a few of our other favorite places. There were tons of big stores including J Crew, Gap and American Eagle, just to mention a few, and all were outlets so had great prices! I also loved the small boutique-style shops that lined the main street.

Coming from a family of foodies, of course lunch was a highlight for me. We ate at a local favorite, ‘Linda Bean’s Maine Kitchen and Topside Tavern’, which was delicious. We tried the fried clam appetizer, lobster roll and the lobster macaroni and cheese. They were all amazing! I’d definitely recommend this place but there were tons of other similar restaurants that looked great and that were just as busy with people!

We explored the town for the rest of the day, grabbed some ice cream to fight the heat and made our way back to Boston. It was such a nice, easy trip that I’d definitely do again for some great outlet shopping (and for another lobster roll)!

Leave a Reply

