Journey to Journalist: Day 1

Today was a special day. I’ve officially been a college Freshman for a month now, and its been both the most overwhelming and exciting time of my life. It’s been tough and I don’t think I really prepared myself for that. I woke up today feeling unmotivated and discouraged that college still hasn’t met my high school self’s expectations. I don’t think I knew what those expectations really were, however, except 1) Make friends and 2) Love it. Yes, I’ve made friends. But leaving the comfortable and communal environment of Basel, Switzerland has made expectation number two a little difficult. I miss my home and my friends, but I love the incredible city of Boston and the fact that I am studying what I really love at an amazing school. Soon I hope to blend the two together and truly feel like I’ve found my place here. I’m going to be patient, as I know I’ll reach that point sooner or later. In the meantime, I’ve decided to focus on what I love, writing, and finally work hard and consistently to become the Journalist I’ve always wanted to be.

I came to college with one definite goal: to become a Journalist. I joined the school’s independent newspaper as well as it’s student run television network and I even Tweeted for the very first time! (Yes, I know, I’m a little behind on that one!). But I feel like now, more than ever, I have a voice that people are willing to hear. So here I am, sitting at my desk, struggling to find the perfect layout and write the perfect first post on my blog!

Above all, today I was inspired by something completely out of the blue, by someone who I’ve never really paid much attention to. Emma Watson. She gave a, in my opinion, monumental address on the new campaign she is launching called He For She, which calls attention to men to help achieve gender equality. It wasn’t just her definitive goal that I was touched by, but her eloquence and confidence during her speech. She reminded me that all people, despite our sex, age, race, reputation etc. have an important voice and should do all that is in their power to make themselves heard. She went from being “Hermione” to a UN ambassador. So, I thought I should start aiming for “Remi Duhé: World renowned Journalist”. This is the beginning of that goal, and I can’t wait to continue sharing my thoughts and curiosity with the world, one blog post at a time!

Leave a Reply

